Complet
Thursday, October 6 2022
19:30

Fantastic Mister Zguy

Support: Côme Ranjard

Promoter: GM EDITIONS

Doors open: 7:30pm

Start at: 8:00pm

16.00 €

complet

The album "Épopée Cool" was mixed in New York by Daniel James Goodwin (Kevin Morby, Devo, Bob Weir...). This epic follows, like a Truffaut film, the amorous adventures of a heart both in love with the absolute and beset by doubt. The perfect sentimental cocktail for songs that compete with elegance and charm to be enjoyed without moderation or temperance.


Fantastic Mister Zguy

─────────────────────


Ghislain Chavanne was born about thirty years ago in the 15th district. He signs with L'ÉpopéeCool, his fourth album which is a real pleasure. The album is a mix of colorful postcards and sweet bills, vacation memories and dreams of distant horizons. It mixes disheveled rocks, tender ballads, nostalgia and the fury of living in the moment. All this is accompanied by a dressing that underlines the versatility of a musician who takes in his account all the compositions but also all the instruments, except the drums.
Mister Zguy (pronounced Zgaille) juggles with sounds and times with an intelligence that has become rare in these times when the abusive use of computer programming and the systematic recourse to software seem to exempt many of them from any research, or even from the slightest competence. As a result, his approach has the gift of seducing the ear while refreshing the memory. In the manner of a high fashion stylist, he is a master in the art of choosing the right sound materials and the best correspondences, of choosing the color of a keyboard, of a synth according to a guitar, and of making contemporary what he borrows from the past. All this on this carefree mode, falsely vain, which makes the eternal charm of the Parisian Titi.

It is however well and truly in the waters of the Hudson River, the Thames or the Mersey, and not in the Seine, that his musical roots were first drank. When his older brother Mathieu, a rock fan, introduced him to the Rolling Stones, the Beatles and the Velvet Underground, Ghislain changed his world and his priorities. He starts to run the record shelves of the stores, locks himself in his room to tinker in self-taught covers that he manages to record via Garage Band. In 2015, the chrysalis accelerates when on a chord sequence borrowed from the Gorillaz, he sticks lyrics of his composition. The track, titled I Want Take You For Someone Else, is now approaching 2 million streams on Spotify and features prominently on a debut EP, "Shrimp Fishery," released in 2015. Initially adept at home recording, he invested a real studio from which will come out three albums in a row, "King Shrimp" in 2019, "Queen Shrimp" in 2020 (the shrimp fishing parties in Norman- die of his childhood have obviously left traces!) and "États D'Ames" a year later where he abandons the language of Shakespeare for that of Francis Blanche. A favorite album on FIP, awarded three stars in Rolling Stone, the album marks a turning point in a career that is now embellished with film soundtracks and synchro for renowned brands such as Hermès or Citroën.

This leap in quality finds its full measure in L'Épopée Cool. Mixed in New York by Daniel James Goodwin (Kevin Morby, Devo, Bob Weir...) this epic follows, like a Truffaut film, the amorous adventures of a heart both in love with the absolute and beset by doubt. Between La Peau Douce and Baisers Volés with something of Polnareff from L'Amour Avec Toi. The perfect sentimental cocktail for songs that compete with elegance and charm to be enjoyed without moderation or temperance. With Mister Zguy, the "pop song" resuscitates in us this so cute sin that the ambient cacophony had seriously put to sleep: the greed. There are "love apples" to crunch on like La Louve, Alter Ego and Le Monde Polychrome with its "return to innocence" tropism like Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers. And the "cotton candy" pieces like Dance With Me which stick deliciously to the palate, the lips, the chin. There are those like Mon Ami Fantastique where the picture of a lost paradise is reconstituted, or never found, that of travels and fantasized embraces. There is the nocturnal reverie of Au Balcon de l'Insomnie haunted by the reminiscences of a love gone up in smoke. There is Un Petit Tu Me Manques where the memory of promises never kept is enough to restore the flavour of a happy adolescence, but one that has been buffeted on the heart side. If Ghislain shows himself to be so unconditional of analogical sources, it is to better mark his territory: that of an assumed romanticism that he knows how to make shimmering by his science of the sound polychromy and contemporary by his sincere and distraught quest of the eternal great love.

jeudi 6 octobre 2022
19:30

Fantastic Mister Zguy

Première Partie : Tbc

Organisateur : GM EDITIONS

Ouvertures des portes : 19h30

Début du concert : 20h

16.00 €

RÉSERVER

L’album “Épopée Cool” a été mixé à New York par Daniel James Goodwin (Kevin Morby, Devo, Bob Weir...). Cette épopée suit à la manière d’un film de Truffaut les aventures amoureuses d’un cœur à la fois éprisd’absolu et assailli par le doute. Le parfait cocktail sentimental pour des chansons qui rivalisent d’élégance et de charme à déguster sans modération ni tempérance.

 

Fantastic Mister Zguy

─────────────────────

 

Ghislain Chavanne est né il y a une trentaine d’années dans le 15ème arrondisse- ment. Il signe avec L’ÉpopéeCool, son quatrième album qui fait un bien fou. S’y échangent en loucedé cartes postales en couleurs et billets doux, souvenirs de vacances et rêves d’horizons lointains. S’y mêlent rocks échevelés, ballades tendres, nostalgie et fureur de vivre l’instant présent. Le tout assorti d’un habillage soulignant la polyvalence d’un musicien qui prend à son compte l’ensemble des compositions mais aussi tous les instruments, à l’exception de la batterie.
C’est que Mister Zguy (prononcez Zgaille) jongle avec les sons et les époques avec une intelligence devenue rare en ces temps où l’usage abusif des programmations informa- tiques et le recours systématique aux logiciels semblent en dispenser beaucoup de toutes re- cherches, voire de la moindre compétence. Du coup, sa démarche a le don de séduire l’oreille tout en rafraichissant la mémoire. A la manière d’un styliste de haute couture, il passe ici maître dans l’art de choisir les bonnes matières sonores et les meilleures correspondances, d’élire la couleur d’un clavier, d’un synthé en fonction d’une guitare, et de rendre contemporain ce qu’il emprunte au passé. Tout ça sur ce mode insouciant, faussement velléitaire, qui fait le charme éternel du Titi parigot. 

C’est pourtant bel et bien dans les eaux de l’Hudson River, de la Tamise ou de la Mersey, et non de la Seine, que ses racines musicales se sont d’abord abreuvées. Quand son frère aîné Mathieu, fan de rock, lui fait découvrir Rolling Stones, Beatles et autres Velvet Underground, Ghislain change de monde et de priorités. Se met à courir les rayons disques des magasins, s’enferme dans sa chambre pour y bricoler en autodidacte des reprises qu’il s’ingénie à enregistrer via Garage Band. En 2015, la chrysalide s’accélère lorsque sur une suite d’accords empruntée aux Gorillaz, il colle des paroles de sa composition. Le morceau intitulé Want Take You For Someone Else frôle aujourd’hui les 2 millions de streams sur Spotify et figure en bonne place sur un premier EP, «Shrimp Fishery», paru en 2015. D’abord adepte de l’enregistrement maison, il investit un véritable studio duquel sortiront trois albums à la suite, «King Shrimp» en 2019, «Queen Shrimp» en 2020 (les parties de pêche à la crevette en Norman- die de son enfance ont visiblement laissé des traces !) et «États D’Ames» un an plus tard où il délaisse la langue de Shakespeare pour celle de Francis Blanche. Album coup de cœur sur FIP, distingué trois étoiles dans Rolling Stone, l’album marque un tournant dans une carrière s’agrémentant désormais de bandes originales pour films et de synchros pour des marques renommées telles qu’Hermès ou Citroën. 

Ce saut de qualité trouve sa pleine mesure dans L’Épopée Cool. Mixé à New York par Daniel James Goodwin (Kevin Morby, Devo, Bob Weir...) cette épopée suit à la manière d’un film de Truffaut les aventures amoureuses d’un cœur à la fois épris d’absolu et assailli par le doute. Entre La Peau Douce et Baisers Volés avec quelque chose de Polnareff de L’Amour Avec Toi. Soit le parfait cocktail sentimental pour des chansons qui rivalisent d’élégance et de charme à déguster sans modération ni tempérance. C’est qu’avec Mister Zguy la « chanson pop » ressuscite en nous ce péché si mignon que la cacophonie ambiante avait sérieusement endormi : la gourmandise. Il y a les morceaux « pommes d’amour » à croquer à belles dents comme La LouveAlter Ego et Le Monde Polychrome avec son tropisme « retour vers l’innocence » façonJonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers. Et les morceaux « barbe à papa » comme Dance With Me qui collent délicieusement au palais, aux lèvres, au menton. Il y a ceux comme Mon Ami Fantastique où se reconstitue la photo d’un paradis perdu, ou jamais trouvé, celui des voyages et des étreintes fantasmées. Il y a la rêverie noctambule d’Au Balcon de l’Insomnie hantée par les réminiscences d’un amour parti en fumée. Il y a Un Petit Tu Me Manques où le souvenir des promesses jamais tenues suffit à restituer la saveur d’une adolescence heureuse mais chahutée côté cœur. Si Ghislain se montre à ce point inconditionnel des sources analogiques, c’est pour mieux marquer son territoire : celui d’un romantisme assumé qu’il sait rendre chatoyant par sa science de la polychromie sonore et contemporain par sa quête sincère et éperduede l’éternel grand amour.